Public content


First Baptist Church's leadership is comprised of the Pastor and supporting deacons chosen by the church congregation. Deacons are ordained into a ministry of assistance whose primary function is to look after the spiritual and physical well-being of the membership at First Baptist of Tolland.


Jay Burns is Chairman of Deacons, and a member  of the Nominating Committee and Church Council.  Responsible for assigning, scheduling, and directing all deacon related activities. He is responsible to the church members. 

Active Deacons:

Chester Chase  

Lou Piazza 

Howard Weldon


Inactive Deacons:
Chip Durdan
Aaron Gill
Jason Thomas

Deacon's Fund:
The Deacon body has at its disposal a “DEACON's FUND” which is used to support requests for benevolence funding by both church members and non-members based on need. Monies are raised for this fund through donations taking in a special offering on months with a 5th Sunday.

The Deacon body is subject to the church membership and decisions made by the membership.

Any request from the Deacon body on its behalf or on the behalf of any individual, committee or group that cannot be handled within the scope of the Deacon body’s authority has to be brought to the proper committee or the church membership for approval.

The “active” Deacon body will also serve as church Trustees acting at all times with church approval of its actions.